Indo Portuguese Coins – tezbid

Indo Portuguese Coins

Uma Rupia, Goa, Portuguese, Indo-Portuguese, Coins, Silver, Copper, Rupia, Tanga, Escudo

The Portuguese explorer Vasco da Gama discovered the sea route to India in 1498, and thereafter Portugal built up a sizable colonial empire in Asia. While it was eventually eclipsed by other European powers, Portugal continued to rule Goa and the enclaves of Daman and Diu till 1961 - when these territories were liberated by the Indian armed forces. Thus, Portugal's colonial rule in India lasted longer than that of any other colonial power. 

Reis, 1898, Vasco Da Gama, Silver, Coin

From 1668 to 1958, the Rupia was the currency of Portuguese territories. Under the Anglo-Portuguese treaty of 1878, coins for Portuguese territories in India were henceforth minted in the Calcutta mint of British India. The Una Rupia of Portuguese India was the same as 1 Indian Rupee. The first two of these coins were issued in the names of Luiz II and Carlos I. In 1911, after Portugal became a Republic, the design was changed and instead of the King's portrait, a bust of Liberty was used. There were two more changes to the designs of the Indo-Portuguese coins - in 1935 and then in 1947. The 1947 issue was 50% silver - identical to the silver rupee of British India - and was the last silver coinage issued by the Portuguese territories in India. 

In 1958, the Rupia was replaced by the Escudo, at the rate of 1 Rupee = 6 Escudos. Decimal coinage was also adopted together with the Escudo. 

In 1898, Portugal issued special coins of 1000 Reis, 500 Reis, 200 Reis and 100 Reis commemorating 400 years of Vasco Da Gama's first voyage to India in 1498. The coins featured the ruler of Portugal - Carlos I and his wife, Queen Amelia. 

Read more about Portuguese coins here

Buy Indo-Portuguese coin here